Confirm your age. Are you 18 or over?

Chairmans Report

Chairman’s Report: 2013

We are delighted to have negotiated yet another four year contract with our sponsors CICADA SPORTS and the Executive would like to put on record our thanks to Alex and Phil at Cicada as their financial support is the major contributory factor in the healthy bank balance which, hopefully, the Treasurer will confirm in a few minutes! Another major change is the appointment of a paid Administrator – a necessary step given the increased amount of time required to run the league and in representing the SCCC in various forums. Our total number of clubs is reduced from 37 to 35 with the amalgamation of Hawkins and Cannock & Rugeley and the decision of Four Oaks to join the Warwickshire League. Despite these changes, we still have 89 teams to look after in season 2014. The past year also saw our play-cricket site receive over 100,000 hits and we are now in the top 30 in the country.

The Annual Presentation in November was preceded again by a “formal” dinner with Arnie Sidebottom as speaker and David Greener, an excellent comic. Fred Barrett was installed as a Life Member in recognition of his sterling work with the umpires over many years. All who attended thought the evening was another success and it will be repeated this year. Our thanks go to Kevin Herbert and Cannock CC for organising the event.

My congratulations go to all Divisional Winners and in particular to our 2013 Champions, Hawkins Sports Cricket Club who are promoted to the Birmingham League. Lichfield CC were winners of the First team KO and the “Paul Humphries Memorial Trophy” for the Man of the Match at the KO Final also went their way with Riley Ward being the recipient after a remarkable innings. The Luke Dovey Memorial Trophy was presented by his father for the second time to the Man of the Match in the Second Team KO final and it went to Sam Russell of winners Hammerwich Cricket Club. Coseley and Rugeley were promoted into the top division where they will be joined by Cannock who unfortunately were relegated from the BDPCL. Performance of the Year was by Jamie Sarginson of Lichfield CC who recorded figures of 9 for 57 in the last match of the season in the Premier Division. Junior Performance of the Year was by Shoaib Akhtar from Hammerwich CC who received the award for consistent performances throughout his first season in senior cricket. Clubman of the Year was Ade Aston for his many years of service to Cannock & Rugeley CC. Mark Humphries was a popular Umpire of the Year and a SCCC Lifetime Achievement Award went to Mick Dawson of Rugeley. The Executive’s thanks go to the Beacon club for again staging the KO Finals` Day in such a superb manner.

This season we had a reduced number of Representative matches; the senior side beat the Warwickshire League in the Himley Floodlit competition and provided the opposition when Fordhouses opened their pavilion extension whilst the U19 beat the Warwickshire League but lost to Worcestershire. My thanks go to Fordhouses, Himley, Lichfield and Wolverhampton for staging these games and to Tariq for managing the teams. He will need more support from clubs in the coming season as we may be involved in a “round robin” tournament against the other feeder leagues, have greater involvement in the Himley Floodlit Competition and play some Over 40 matches!

Over the past year, the Executive has had meetings with the BDPCL and fellow feeder leagues to cover some common ground, especially on club and ground standards. In addition Kevin and I attended a meeting at Lord’s to debate the findings of the ECB pilot survey and discuss issues in league cricket at a level below Premier status. We await a further meeting later in the year to discuss our issues in greater depth.

I should like to thank my executive committee for all their sterling work over the past year and to comment that you are well served by all its members. The league itself won the Staffordshire OSCA in its category and was nominated for a national award. Moreover four of the eight OSCA’s were won by SCCC clubs or members. As a consequence, Kevin attended a gathering of the greats at Lord’s along with Ash Nawaz of Walsall YPF who was nominated for his work in the cricketing community – recognition indeed! I do have to make special mention of Kevin for his continued dedication in making sure that SCCC stays at the forefront of Staffordshire and national club cricket, Paul Bailey for compiling the fixtures yet again and Gary Crofts for liaising with the umpires. Our thanks, as ever, to his panel of umpires and we would encourage all players to support them both on and off the field – a post-match pint is always appreciated!

Unfortunately, we have to record the deaths of Tex Billings, Micky Johnson, Dennis Humphries and Life Member, Jack Wootten

In closing, I wish all clubs and officials the very best for season 2014.

Bill Tranter

Staffordshire Club Cricket Championship newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.